Role Model, Not Supermodel

Play by Play Day by Day with Amy Lawrence

When I set out on this radio course, the idea of being a role model never crossed my mind. I’m not sure anyone ever envisions stature or influence…at least I didn’t. It’s only in the last few months, after receiving an email from a father whose daughters love listening to my show, that I began to chew over the idea. Is it my responsibility as a public figure? If it comes with the territory, what do I want people to see, hear, and notice when they tune in or interact with me?

By definition, a role model is “a person looked to by others as an example to be imitated.” I’ve always believed it’s best to emulate people we know personally…to find role models among those we can speak to, ask questions of, interact with on a regular basis, and watch closely. For me, the first person who comes to mind is Mom…

View original post 788 more words

